Firfirli Mosque (12 Apostles Church) Firfirli Mosque, also known as the 12 Apostles Church, is a historic building located approximately 400 meters away from the famous Pool of Abraham in Sanliurfa's city center. The building was originally constructed as a church and was known as the 12 Disciples Church. However, during the Ottoman Era, locals began calling it the "Frilly Church" due to the windmill wings attached to it. The windmill would turn and make a "frizz" sound each time the wind blew. Eventually, the mosque came to be known as "Fırfırlı" in the Urfa dialect, meaning 'Frilly.' According to historical records, the "Holy Cross of Varak," which was of great significance for Armenian Christianity and was located in the Varak Church in Van City, was later brought to Urfa and displayed in this church around 1092. Although the exact date of construction of the church is unknown, it must have been built before this time. The building follows a three-naved basilica plan, with the middle nave featuring an impressive dome with a squinch, and the side naves covered with cross vaults. The building boasts 24 windows on the pulley of the middle nave, and construction materials include basalt stone for the domes and vaults, columns with corniches, and exterior facades adorned with half columns. After being used as a place of worship by Armenians, the building was later turned into a prison. Notches carved by prisoners on the walls kept track of their time spent in confinement and marked special moments, with some prisoners even leaving their names in these marks. The mosque's inscription above the mihrab confirms that it was converted into a mosque in 1956. One of the windows that was originally located inside an apse became a mihrab after the building's conversion into a mosque.